to pack or not to pack

September 16, 2011 § 1 Comment

So this weekend I am off to seattle and I thought I would touch on what packing for a weekend trip would entail. I read a quote once by Diane Von Furstenburg that said something along the lines of  once you know what to pack you really know yourself (how amazing is DVF?!). I absolutely believe that and am constantly trying to pack less and read exactly what I will need. Which is, of course, impossible because of “you never know”- as in “you never know, I may actually need this evening gown!” Well, I would hope that if I got swept off my feet and invited to a ball, Price Charming would buy me a dress.

But anyways, let’s start with makeup. I try to get back to basics and also take one item that will elevate an outfit if need be. In this case it’s a bright lipstick.

(clockwise from left)

  1. YSL mascara– unfortunately this tester brush is a lot better than the brush on the actual mascara. Good thing I’m traveling and need a small one!
  2. Jane Iredale Pure Pressed mineral foundation– the best, lightest and least irritating base I’ve ever used.
  3. Laura Mercier blush is Lush Nectarine– my absolute favorite blush. The peachy pink colour is perfect for anyone with warm undertones.
  4. MAC lipstick in Full Speed– an amazing bright lipstick to punch up any look
  5. Cle de Peu concealer– hands down the best concealer I’ve ever used. Never been able to find one that can even compare.
  6. Benefit Moonbeam– great highlighter that doesn’t look sparkly. Makes me look glowy.
  7. Shu Uemura lash curlers– a must for looking awake.
  8. All wrapped up in a cute little Kate Spade case
 
In terms of clothing, I try to take basic items that can be worked into different outfits for each day. For instance, either a pair of jeans or leggings, a couple of shirts, maybe a dress, a pair of boots and a jacket (the rain is back!). Throw in a couple accessories to spice things up and you have enough outfits to last through the weekend, no matter what the weather or the occasion. (I also hope to pick up a few goodies while I’m there…)
(clockwise left)
  1. Nordstrom cashmere scarf
  2. Line leather jacket
  3. Costa Blanca red t-shirt
  4. H&M white touque (yes, spelt the Canadian way!)
  5. Ray-Ban aviator sunglasses
  6. Forever 21 dress
  7. Seven skinny jeans
  8. H&M leather bag
  9. H&M booties
  10. H&M white lace blouse
 
And they don’t even take up a ton of room! Enjoy your weekend!
§ One Response to to pack or not to pack

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading to pack or not to pack at les remarquables.

meta

