fall all over again

August 26, 2011 § 2 Comments

And so here comes back-to-school shopping again. Or back-to-work. Or back-to-nothing-but-must-shop-and-find-a-whole-new-wardrobe-for-fall shopping. Either way, all things fall and winter are racing into the shops and everyone is going mad to get them. I know I get a little frenzied and crazy when I go fall shopping. I feel like I have to get everything all at once and that I may never shop again so if I miss something it’ll be gone forever. Which is obviously ridiculous because if anything recycles or is “inspired” it’s fashion. So. Here are some of my favorites from fall’s runways and how I plan to incorporate them into my wardrobe.

1) Parkas/Anoraks

Yes, not the same thing, but nevertheless large and casual coats, preferably with fur (faux obviously). I have a green anorak/parka hybrid with faux fur along the hood. Hits just below my bottom, so perfect for leggings paired with booties (yes, i know, I can’t get enough). Vera Wang’s dark and dreary parka has me spinning. In a good way. As does most of her collection (but more on that later).

Vera Wang

I also can’t get over Mulberry’s gilden green toggle parka layered over a metallic gown. I must try that the next time I have a ball to go to.

Mulberry

Thakoon’s plaid coat is a statement piece, but covetable nonetheless. If I had the money for more than one fall coat, it could definitely be on my wish list. However, my concern is the longevity of this parka’s print. While, I do appreciate trends, I don’t intend on buying a new fall, winter AND spring coat every season.

Thakoon

2) Tribal prints

Be it Native American or Navajo, prints are taking a tribal direction this season. The best prints, in my opinion, are done be Proenza Schouler. Always have been. Except for maybe Pucci. Or Missoni. But that’s a whole different story. Anyways, their take on Native American blankets (a supposed inspiration for this collection) is quite brilliant. I will definitely be incorporating this trend into my fall wardrobe, starting with my tribal print cropped t-shirt (I’ll have to show that with a post later on, because without visual help it just sounds awful).

I must say that the dresses are quite fabulous, especially paired with tights (black, grey or burgundy) when the weather gets chilly. Although so are the pants, especially paired with the orange top and black blazer. It is colour, structure and print done to perfection.

3) White

White after Labour Day?! Heck yes. Although I’m definitely not crazy about the boots (probably the first time Isabel Marant has ever produced something I’m not in love with), the all white trend is something different and something I’m loving for fall. I am even comtemplating pulling out my hippie-esque long white skirt from about grade 7 out (if I can still find it in the mess) and pairing it with booties and a white top. Maybe even a white scarf. But I must say I draw the line at white footwear (sorry Isabel).

4) Booties (with dresses)

As Rachel Zoe would say, I am “DIEING” for Vera’s fall collection. The toughness of her booties (is it yet apparent that I am obsessed with booties?) and her pleated chiffon dresses are the perfect juxtaposition. Also, her muted colours are a breath of fresh air from the extreme brights and colour-blocking of late.

The pale blush and black footwear paired with dark eyes and simple hair is something I cannot stop looking at. I must let her inspire me into a pastel chiffon dress with tough extras.

Lanvin also did a brilliant job of pairing cocktail attire with booties. Not that I doubted Alber for a moment. If there ever was a genius besides Einsten it is Elbaz. His billowing silhouettes with nipped waists are very flattering and comfortable (my main concerns).

And by the way that hat is just fantastic.

So there you have part one of my fall fashion ideas and inspirations. More to come as I continue to find new obsessions!

images courtesy of style.com

§ 2 Responses to fall all over again

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading fall all over again at les remarquables.

meta

